Carlow College, St. Patrick’s is committed to developing and maintaining a governance and organisational structure that is effective, flexible, sustainable, transparent and viable. This commitment is outlined in the College’s Strategic Plan 2017 – 2022 whereby the following goals, in relation to governance and organisational structure, are prioritised: reviewing and monitoring on a continuous basis the effectiveness of organisational structures and processes within the College; outlining and revising key areas of accountability, roles and line management functions; continuing the development of a robust quality assurance system to inform and support governance and organisational structures; and ensuring that strategic targets set for the College have built-in mechanisms for monitoring their effectiveness.

The governance of Carlow College is managed by the Governing Body in accordance with the Instrument of Governance. Their role is, in an overall capacity, to provide strategic guidance and to monitor the activities and effectiveness of the management of Carlow College; additionally, the Governing Body also has a statutory requirement to ensure that the charitable mission of the College is safeguarded and carried out in accordance with the Charities Act 2009.

The Governing Body constructively supports the President and the two decision-making bodies within the College, the Management Board and Academic Council. Both the Management Board and the Academic Council have reporting committees that have defined responsibilities which are published in their terms of references.

Carlow College, St. Patrick’s complies with the Charities Governance Code and the Charities SORP: Statement of Recommended Practice applicable to charities preparing their accounts in accordance with the Financial Reporting Standard (FRS 102).

Annual Report of Carlow College, St. Patrick’s for 2022 in accordance with Section 22 of the Protected Disclosures Act 2014

Each public body is required under Section 22 of the Act to publish an annual report setting out the number of Protected Disclosures received in the preceding year and the action taken (if any). This report must not result in persons making disclosures being identifiable.

This report covers the period 1 January 2022 – 31 December 2022.

No Protected Disclosures were made to Carlow College, St. Patrick’s in the period covered by this report.

Organisational Chart

Quality System Structure

Terms of References

Skip to content