Coronavirus Information

Please click for updates on Semester 2.

Learn More

Carlow College, St. Patrick’s announce 2021 Student Literary Awards with distinguished Poet Michael Longley

1000 Events News

Carlow College, St. Patrick’s are delighted to have distinguished poet Michael Longley present their annual Literary Awards for 2021. 

A native of Belfast, Michael Longley has received many awards for his poetry; the Whitbread Prize, the T.S. Eliot Prize, and the Griffin Prize. He has been awarded the Queen’s Medal for Poetry (2001), and he was awarded a CBE in 2010. He has received honourary doctorates from Queen’s University Belfast and Trinity College Dublin. He has been Ireland Professor of Poetry. 

With collections like ‘Gorse Fires’ (1991), ‘The Ghost Orchid’ (1995), ‘The Weather in Japan’ (2000), ‘Snow Water’ (2004), and his most recent, ‘The Candlelight Master’ (2020), Michael Longley has risen to pre-eminence as one of the finest poets writing in the English language. 

Carlow College, St. Patrick’s are very honoured to have Michael Longley present our Literary Awards 2021.

The Literary Awards bring together the entire College community – first year to fourth year, humanities to social care students – to recognise and celebrate the very best of Carlow College, St. Patrick’s literary talent. The Awards will gather the College literary community in a spirit of camaraderie and friendly competition to celebrate the best poetry and prose of the past year. This year (due to Covid-19 restrictions) our Award Ceremony will take place virtually on Monday the 19th of April 2021 at 7.30pm.


Skip to content