Carlow College honours academic excellence at scholarship awards

Carlow College, St. Patrick’s awarded 21 scholarships this week in recognition of the academic achievements of its first year students and continuing students. Students receiving scholarships were from Carlow, Kilkenny, Laois, Wexford, Kildare, Waterford, Cork and Donegal. Amongst the scholarship awards were six students from Carlow.

Scholarships are awarded for the first year student who achieves the highest CAO points for each undergraduate course, or in the case of mature students, the student who achieves the highest semester one results in their first year. In addition, progression scholarships are awarded for the highest achieving students for each programme progressing to the next year.

Awardees received a certificate and a cash scholarship worth €500.

The following Awards were presented:

Academic Achievement Entrance Scholarships

  • Marata Sida – BA in Arts & Humanities
  • Lorcan Fealey – BA in Applied Social Studies (Professional Social Care)
  • Leanne Walsh – BA in Social, Political & Community Studies
  • Sarah Spate – BA (Hons) in Arts & Humanities
  • Megan Meagher – BA (Hons) in English & History
  • Caitlin Watson – BA (Hons) in Psychology

Mature Student Entrance Scholarships

  • Diarmuid Commins – BA in Applied Social Studies (Professional Social Care)
  • Eimhin William Kehoe Clarke – BA (Hons) in Arts & Humanities
  • Evan Lawlor – BA (Hons) in English & History
  • Graham Chapple – BA (Hons) in Psychology

Progression Scholarships

  • Susan Hanly – BA in Arts & Humanities
  • Colm Greene – BA in Arts & Humanities
  • Janis Woodgate – BA in Arts & Humanities
  • Darragh O’Faoláin – BA (Hons) in Arts & Humanities
  • Weronika Bujok – – BA (Hons) in Arts & Humanities
  • Aoife Lanigan – BA (Hons) in Psychology
  • Shannon Whittle – BA in Applied Social Studies (Professional Social Care)
  • Denise Regan – BA in Applied Social Studies (Professional Social Care)
  • Inga Daskeviciene – BA (Hons) in Applied Social Studies (Professional Social Care)
  • Kelsey Motherway- BA (Hons) in English & History

Bishop James Davis Travel Prize 2023 – 2024 for Study Abroad: Janis Woodgate

The Scholarship Awards were presented by Carlow College President, Fr Conn Ó Maoldhomhnaigh and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Registrar, Dr Thomas McGrath at a ceremony in the College on Wednesday, 20th March.

In congratulating students, Dr McGrath said “Carlow College, St. Patrick’s is delighted to make these scholarship awards to our well deserving students and to recognise their hard work and dedication to their studies”.

Late applications are still being accepted for undergraduate programmes commencing in September 2024. CAO late applications close on 1st May 2024. To find out more, visit


Share this Post


Share this Post

Skip to content